Undergraduate Study Schemes (3-Year Curriculum)

In the first term of study, students enroll 4 compulsory courses in fundamental biochemistry and biology, which serve as the foundations for subsequent specialized studies in life sciences. Then, in the second term, the study focuses on the exploration of the different majors of interest. Students can enrol classes from 10 different courses offered by the six majors under the Life Sciences Programmes, i.e. Biochemistry (BCHE), Biology (BIOL), Cell and Molecular Biology (CMBI), Environmental Science (ENSC), Food and Nutritional Sciences (FNSC), and Molecular Biotechnology (MBTE). To avoid overloading, students are recommended not to take more than 13 units of major courses. Nonetheless, this limitation can already accommodate the requirements of up to 3 majors to acquire their preliminary savours. Through this flexible course-selecting scheme, students can comprehend their specific interests in the diverse fields in life sciences and formulate their best fitting choice for the major. The declaration of major is finally submitted subsequent to the completion of the second term. Thereafter, students are enlisted in their selected major, and follow the study requirement posed by the specific major.